TRUTH…

I just finished a series of sermons on the 10 Commandments and one of them was about truth. Since then I read these words from the late Lewis Smedes (Fuller Seminary):

“People are the real reason for telling the truth. ‘Speak the truth to one another, for we are members of one another.’ (The Apostle Paul). We need to be truthful because every good human relationship is built on communication. AND COMMUNICATION RESTS ON TRUST. When I open my mouth to speak to someone, I make an instant promise that what comes out will speak my mind. And the person who listens to me has a right to trust that my words reveal what is on my mind. People who deceive us deny our right to make free decisions based on truth.”

I want to be where God is and God is where truth is! It all speaks to me of how vital telling the truth really is – TRUST. In the church – in our homes – in the world, let us be people whose identity is that of truthfulness in love.

For the greater glory of God!

Pastor Ron

Tags:

Leave a comment