April 21, 2010 AND VIRGINIA IS STILL SINGING…..

 Yesterday I visited Virginia and she didn’t know me even though I’ve been her pastor for 22 years. As we sat down in the sunroom, she began to lift her voice in song….

             “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want….”

 And then after a brief pause….

             “Oh, how I love Jesus, Oh, how I love Jesus…..”

 “Where did you learn those sings?” I asked. She replied “At home.” Virginia can hardly remember anything else, but she remembers the songs of faith taught to her during childhood. As we looked out the large windows, she would continually remark as to what a beautiful day it was and then she would sing again.

 God does put unending songs in our hearts that nothing can stop – even Alzheimer’s.

 Thanks be to God and keep singing!

 Pastor Ron

Tags:

Leave a comment